Project Excavator

excavator

One of the perks of the U.S. Government is lots of publicly available data. A recent executive order is making agencies offer machine-readable data, which opens up new opportunities to collect dirt. Enter Project Excavator, a tool that digs up such dirt. I want to give journalists or activists the ability to ask for data reports to cite in various projects. Excavator will be a long running project that requires much research, and I will need assistance from web developers and designers to make the project big and strong on GitHub. If I am left to do it alone… well… I’ll get to it when I get to it. Not like I’m getting paid or anything.

Skills Needed

  • Yii Framework
  • HTML
  • CSS
  • Javascript/JSON
  • PHP
  • Sass/Compass/SMACSS
  • Git/Git Flow
  • BASH

June 22

Initialized repository according to Git Flow. See readme for project info for devs.

June 23-26

A bunch of code and bullshit. See commit log.

June 27

Implemented boilerplate theme. No real decor added yet. Just worried about content.

At this point I want to work on my first data source, but I have not yet decided on the first federal public API to target. Ideally I would gather information on the sexes, but not all APIs offer that information. It is possible that more time will be needed for Obama’s executive order to be carried out.

In the meantime, I decided that using the Google Charts API would be a good way to perform client-side presentation of data. I will just let the back end deliver it.

July 11

Fiddling with a static HTML file with Google Charts. Also finished first draft of project logo.

One thought on “Project Excavator”

Leave a Reply

